Czech Republic
United Kingdom

RS Fat Face Racing Circuit Queen Mary SC

  • RS700 Nationals Plymouth 2014
  • RS700 Eurocup, YC Carnac, May 2018
  • RS700 Eurocup, YC Carnac, May 2018
The forecast for a windy weekend did not let down the 20 RS700s who travelled to Queen Mary Sailing club on the May bank Holiday weekend for this the second event of the 2003 RS700 Fat Face Racing Circuit. Race 1 begun with a tussle for the lead between Tim Johnson and Andy White, Johnson appeared to have the battle won with superior downwind speed, but White left uncovered regained the lead at the windward mark. The close race to the finish was cut short as Johnson capsized in the gusty conditions. White continued on to win from Andy Peake and Johnson in 3rd. At the windward mark Steve Tylecote lead race 2, but was soon overtaken by White and Johnson. On the second run with high winds now causing havoc through the fleet, Johnson once again capsized gybing, White also had a quick dip, but went on to win from Peake. Race 3 saw White lead from the start, lapping half the fleet and finish over a leg in front of Peake. Sunday brought the same windy conditions, but also some large wind shifts to test the competitors. Johnson took advantage of a large shift on the first beat of race 4, to lead at the windward mark. A lead he increased to the finish, followed again by Peake and the late recovering White. White and Johnsonís battle at the front continued in race 4 with, the same result, Johnson capsized gybing in the windy conditions and White went on to win. Andy Irons lead the chasing group, with Peake piping Tony Freer on the line for 3rd. The final race saw some huge wind shifts, but the same faces at the front. Johnson won to guarantee third overall, followed by Mr safety, Andy Peake, the only man not to capsize all weekend, in 2nd place in both the race and the event. Freer followed in 3rd, guaranteeing 4th overall. White who had already done enough to win the event came in 4th. White now leads the 2003 Fat face circuit from Johnson with Peake in third. With points tight at the top the next event at Stokes Bay SC on May 25th / 26th should be interesting.
Overall: 1. Andy White 2. Andy Peake 3. Tim Johnson 4. Tony Freer 5. Andy Irons 6. Paul Lewis 7. Tim Dickinson 8. Eddie Gatehouse 9. John Emmett 10. Chris Kirk 11. Leigh Albrecht 12. Stewart Speer 13. Marcus Boret 14. Peter Halliwell 15. Matthew Stark 16. Steve Tylecote 17. Paul Halliwell 18. Neil Sanders 19. Tim Garvin 20. Graham Sanderson
Website Security Test